What is love?

So what is love?

Let me ask a question.

If you, your family, your business, or your church were to vanish all the sudden would your community miss you?

I love this song, but I also believe that we can’t ever abandon truth in our demonstration of love.  Most people seem to really struggle with truth in love.  Either they err on one side or the other, believing they stand in dichotomy to each other.  I see love without truth like the Red Cross.  Great organization, but after they help a sick person they don’t save them from their greatest eternal needs.  I think the problem is they misinterpret truth as judicially administered justice.  The harsh truth shoved down your throat as you receive your verdict.  You just have to take it.  Jesus does something amazing and different.  In John 13:34 Jesus is talking to his disciples.  He makes it clear the demonstration of genuine faith to the world around them is their love for one another.  I think there is something really important that many preachers and teachers overlook.  When you demand obedience you create a miserable slave.  When you win someones heart you create a powerful ally that longs to serve.  I believe deeply in the truth.  I also believe truth when fully owned in someones heart produces what Christ really wanted.  Not just a right action but a right heart.  Love, show love, administer love to those around you and do it with truth.

Like that old saying goes. “People don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care.”

John 13:34-35

34A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.35 By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”

Leave a Reply

