You speak back!

I received quite a few responses concerning God from the last post. I wanted to throw out some ideas that were passed along to me.

Elizabeth stated “To me God is God. For me god the noun has narrowed and reduced God the pronoun. He is Father, Son, Holy ghost…..He gives purpose and IS the purpose. Both unknowable and intimate, big and small..”

Penni said “He is a person and He loves us more than we will ever be able to fathom.”

Patricia states “He is Love, He is mercy, He is in all my trials and tribulations through life. He is my strength, He is my guide, He is who gives me purpose in life…He is the one and only role model that all of us should look up to and try and be like. I know I am unworthy of His love, and it amazes me every day that He does love me!”

Nydia said “when God came to Moses for the first time in Horeb, God introduced himself to Moses as: ‘The God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob’ (Ex 3:6)”.

Do you notice a common theme? A real relationship with God isn’t just an increase in knowledge ABOUT Him. It’s also personal, really personal. Though God is omnipotent (all powerful), omniscient (all knowing), and omnipresent (everywhere), one of His greatest attributes truly is how personal He is.

In literature there is a term for ascribing human characteristics to something–anthropomorphism. The problem with this term in relation to God is it implies humans are the center and we try to put our traits on something else, therefore we try to understand God from a human perspective. Here is the really cool truth–we are made in HIS image! The beautiful part of our relationship between us and God isn’t that God is LIKE us–its that relationships in perfection are FROM God and found in Him. It’s beyond human! When we find a right relationship with God, it’s like coming home.

Genesis 1:27 (ESV)
So God created man in his own image,
in the image of God he created him;
male and female he created them.

Leave a Reply

