Why good Christians do nothing.

Why good people do nothing.

(It hurts falling off your bike!)

I remember teaching my eldest son to ride his bike.  Exhausted, running behind him with my hand on the seat, I struggled to catch my breath while at the same time trying to hold him up.  It was inevitable.  My exhaustion pushed me to trust in his ability before he was truly ready.  As soon as I let go, to my amazement he took off.  Ten, twenty yards out he was doing great!  Than all of a sudden, boom!  He hit the ground.  Skinned knees and crying, he yelled for dad.  I quickly found myself running yet again.

It’s exhausting teaching kids to ride a bike.

Over time and a few more bloody knees, he finally figured it out and the neighborhood became his wheeled playground.  His posse of 2nd and 3rd graders now ruled the suburban streets.

It’s interesting, though he is quite a talented little bike rider now, he knows almost nothing about all the intricate laws of nature and creative engineering that went into his bike ride.  The countless brilliant men that developed the bicycle, their stories, experiences, and process of bike creation have never entered into his little mind.  He just likes to ride!

The other day I was talking to some people about us as Christians needing to be more involved in our community.  We need to volunteer with the poor, serve those who are in need and hurting.  I mentioned that maybe we need to start more training classes, a place where we can teach and prepare our people about every aspect of serving others.  A lady who works for me piped up and said “we don’t need another training class, we need to just do it!”

It amazes me how modern Christians have become worshipers of evaluation. As a graduate student myself I will absolutely agree that study is extremely important.  The problem is we have Christians who have spent much of their spiritual lives reading about those who have developed ways to serve, studying all the intricate nuances of having conversations with people who may be hurting, reading about how to balance our lives when we begin to serve so we don’t burn out.  Then when we finally have the courage to serve, or “ride the bike” and inevitably fall and skin our emotional knee, we abandon service and proclaim, “see I told you I wasn’t ready!”.

The Bible says that those of you who know the good you ought to do and don’t do it sin.   Just maybe some Christians obsessed with analysis alone are living in…. well we will just let James 4:17 fill in the blank.

5 thoughts on “Why good Christians do nothing.

  1. I can’t tell you when I began to know there was a God I could count on in my life. I can tell you when I began to experience his energy surging through my veins. It was when I demoted my tendency to plan and analyze in favor of jumping in with both feet.
    Thank’s for the reminder.

  2. I like it when someone tells me I would be really good at serving somewhere or for some occasion. How much more satisfying is it when the voice of the Lord speaks to me,
    encouraging me to step out and give something I am not sure I even posess. When I take risks for the Lord He always equips me for the task! We cannot out give God. Excellent message….

  3. I wander if the lady who said, “we don’t need another training class, we need to just do it!” would have done so, if any of the conversation was any of the following, “We need to get involved in our community by telling our neighbors about Jesus, challenging them to serve Christ, teach our friends and neighbors the Word of God, invite them to church/Sunday School or small group.” rather than social service activities?

  4. On the other hand, if you consider those that serve the needy in this world or country and remove from the count those in the church of Jesus Christ, the remaining number of social workers would be quite small. So the church is doing the work of serving the needy. It might be true, those in the church can do more, but they are clearly engaged more than ever.

Leave a Reply

