The Waiting Room

The Waiting Room

Today I sat in a hospital waiting room with one of my best friends.

It’s amazing how just sitting can be exhausting. We were waiting on an MRI and it become really clear in the next few hours we would experience deep relief or prepare for battle.  Don’t you love waiting rooms? Honestly I am not much for emotions, at least the teary eyed kind, yet I found myself fighting back tears a few times over the last few days.  Isn’t it amazing how you can go from one type of busy to a complete other?  Or how fast everything changes?  The last few days have been filled with listening to doctors asses symptoms and progress the diagnostic road.  With every test it became more and more clear this wasn’t going to be a simple fix.  Honestly I tried a few different ways to help, first to talk openly about it, than I did my best to distract from the situation with lighter talk, but nothing could remove the weight in these waiting rooms.

How do you deal with situations like this?  Honestly no amount of education or understanding removes the anxiety completely.  No distraction fully turns your attention, not for long at least.  What gives you strength in those difficult seasons of life? What advice would you give to someone who is stuck in the waiting room?

You know life is a kind of a waiting room. The reality is we all will face the unknown at some point. We will all be in the waiting room.  In many conversations I have found that eventually most of us land in two categories: those who work really hard to ignore the questions of life and those who work really hard to figure them out.  There is an obscure passage I have studied and taught on.  Isaiah 26:3 states that “You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.” Sometimes when I read passages like this I think “ya, if only it were that easy.” Sometimes the leap from head to heart feels like a million miles.  Some grab for a bottle others grab for a book, but we are all looking for a way to bring peace to what we already think we know.  How would you encourage those in the waiting room?

I would love to hear your thoughts! Write below or you can email me at justthink@luke117.com

One thought on “The Waiting Room

  1. Luke 22:42-44 42 “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” 43 An angel from heaven appeared to him and strengthened him. 44 And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.

    Matthew 26:36-44 36″Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to them, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” 37 He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubled. 38 Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.”

    39 Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

    40 Then he returned to his disciples and found them sleeping. “Could you men not keep watch with me for one hour?” he asked Peter. 41 “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.”

    42 He went away a second time and prayed, “My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.”

    43 When he came back, he again found them sleeping, because their eyes were heavy. 44 So he left them and went away once more and prayed the third time, saying the same thing.”

    The Gospel of Mark and Luke also contain the account. Jesus, the very Son of God Most High was driven to his prayerful knees in anguish and hurt because of what was about to occur. He could have avoided everything had he given the command. Legions of angels were on standby to put an end to it all. Yet Christ set aside his own will for that of the Fathers.

    For family and friends, not because of my job, I’ve been to far too many emergency rooms, on too many hospital visits, sat in too many hospice care units and attended more funerals than a person of my age should have to endure. None of it was what I would have chosen yet that is not for me to decide. All the Lord asks is that we remain faithful.

    Times like these are what we train for as disciples. Eph. 6:13 “Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.”

    It’s o.k. to hurt or hurt for someone. Humor is a good coping mechanism and staying busy helps. Reminding yourself that God keeps an account of our tears is helpful too. (Psalm 56:8 Record my lament; list my tears on your scroll[b] — are they not in your record?) Worry and anxiety only reveal the extent to which we do not trust the Lord. Remember the Centurion: ‘help me overcome my unbelief?’ Many is the time when I’ve said “Lord I cannot see the good here but I trust in you for it. Forgive me for my doubts and help me to stand firm in you so that others may see you.”

    Your peace during these times when the flesh is racked with pain is a testimony to others. And these times are also times when God is discipling us, maturing our faith, wiping away the film of worldiness and granting a glimpse of His eternal perspective and purposes.

    Hope this helps. Whatever your situation, my prayers are with you and Leslie.

Leave a Reply

