Are you worshiping the dead?

Image

We are all chasing the dead or rotting.  

About ten years ago I was driving to work.  As nerdy as it sounds, my commute for a few weeks consisted of me listening to Dr. John Piper’s series on what Christian worship is.  I remember driving down a neighborhood road and being so moved by the message I pulled over and wept.  I don’t know if you have ever had that happen.  When you become so aware of a new perspective in life that it is overwhelming. 

The word worship means to exceedingly love, desire, and give of your resources to something.  I functionally worshiped my Jeep, my body through exercise, and my digital toys. 

I was investing a massive percentage of all my resources toward things that are decaying and rotting away. 

Think about it, my car is literally rotting away.  My body is rotting away; at best I may get 90 years.  I realized that almost everything that I was “worshiping” was dying.  It was all going into oblivion.  I was investing so much of my time, energy, and money into a stopgap, or quick temporal pleasure.  Think about movie stars who have had countless plastic surgeries just to try to delay the inevitable a little longer.  How much money is spent on trying to make things that are dying look like they aren’t?  

What if I could invest in something that would be remembered, something that would last longer than my youth, my home, my car, and my health?

1 John 2:15-17, “Do not love the world or the things in the world.  If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16 For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride of life—is not from the Father but is from the world. 17 And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.” (ESV)

The Bible offers a much different perspective on investments, an investment of and in righteousness.  Are you strategically investing your time, resources, and energy in things that are coming to life rather than passing away?  

A decade ago I made a strategic decision to invest in what is coming to life, what will last beyond this mortal world.  Are you?

4 thoughts on “Are you worshiping the dead?

  1. Wonderful take on this scripture. Our society worships all the wrong things and Christians get so caught up in the same that they no longer are “different” and set apart. We need to refocus our priorities so we can attract the world by how we are “different” and not just like them.

  2. Good points! Matthew 6:19-21: 19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal; 21 for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” What possible treasures could we be storing up in Heaven? Scripture mentions crowns for believers. There are five types of crowns mentioned in the New Testament that will be given. These crowns are identified as the Everlasting Crown (Victory) in 1 Cor 9:25, the Crown of the Soul Winner in Phil 4:1 and 1 Thes 2:19, the Crown of Righteousness in 2 Tim 4:8, the Crown of Life in James 1:12 and Rev 2:10, and the Crown of Glory in 1 Peter 5:4.

  3. Another really GREAT post!!
    You always make me stop and think twice…a very good thing!
    So proud of you & GRATEFUL for you…mom

    Sent from my iPad

  4. I certainly have had that experience many times and continue to read and listen to podcasts in order to experience the wonders of the Word and Gods truth. One of your best posts

Leave a Reply

