Mother’s Day (Now that I’m a Mom)

MothersDay

Now that I’m a Mom

Written by Leslie, for my Mom on Mother’s Day

 

Now that I’m a Mom…I understand how tiresome it is to feed everyone day after day, year after year.

Now that I’m a Mom…I know what it’s like to walk in the door and the first words I hear are, “I’m hungry!”

Now that I’m a Mom…I understand the aggravation of never getting a moment of privacy, even in the bathroom.

Now that I’m a Mom…I know what it’s like to have had to put up with so much whining I feel like I’m going to explode…and sometimes I do.

Now that I’m a Mom…I know what it’s like to have a daughter who gets into my jewelry, shoes, make-up, scarves, and purses, and strews them all over the house.

Now that I’m a Mom…I understand the endless laundry, constant messes, and relentless dirty dishes.

Now that I’m a Mom…I worry that that they’re not getting enough nutrition and tell them to eat their fruits and vegetables, and say things like, “Kids in Africa would be happy to have that.”

Now that I’m a Mom…I know what it’s like to have your six-year-old insist he knows more than you.

Now that I’m a Mom…I no longer shop for myself very often, am content with the same wardrobe for several years, because I have to be.

Now that I’m a Mom…I know what it’s like to work hard over a meal, making sure I’ve covered all the essential food groups while maintaining a pleasing taste, only to sit down to eat and hear the words, “This is gross!”

Now that I’m a Mom…I know what it is to feel frazzled, overwhelmed, and unappreciated.

But…

Now that I’m a Mom…I’ve experienced the thrill of seeing my baby for the first time.

Now that I’m a Mom…I now understand the feeling of having your heart outside of your body.

Now that I’m a Mom…I understand the feeling of loving someone so much it hurts.

Now that I’m a Mom…I know the guilt of feeling like I don’t measure up because I want my children to never get yelled at, to experience me at my best all the time, but knowing I fail every day.

Now that I’m a Mom…I understand the inner tug of war at forcing my children to do something they don’t want to do because it’s good for them, even though it causes me pain as well.

Now that I’m a Mom…I know the sacrifice of spending my Christmas or birthday money on them instead of me, and they might not know or say thank you, but it doesn’t    matter because their happiness and needs matter more than mine.

Now that I’m a Mom…I know what it’s like to swell with pride when they accomplish something that to others seems insignificant, but to me is amazing.

Now that I’m a Mom…I push my kids to reach their potential because I believe in them and want them to experience all that life has to offer, even when they fight me.

Now that I’m a Mom…I realize all the sacrifice, tears, heartache, joys, weariness, delight, worry, and struggle my own wonderful mother herself must have experienced.

Now that I’m a Mom…I feel blessed and fortunate that I have a Mom who showed me how to be a good one, and that she had a Mom who did the same for her.

Now that I’m a Mom…I realize how smart my own Mom is, and when she used to say, “You’ll understand someday,” she was right.

Now that I’m a Mom…I understand why God says “a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised,” and that “her beauty should come from a gentle and quiet spirit.”

Now that I’m a Mom…I know the work, aggravation, and sacrifice will all be worth it, because just as I have done with my mother, someday my children will grow up and appreciate it, will see me as a woman worthy of praise and honor…

…and then I get to be their friend.

 

Read more?

To all the parents who are just about to lose it… Take a minute and read this!

20140110-215611.jpg

 

4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day (Now that I’m a Mom)

  1. Awesome, Leslie! Thanks for sharing! And I agree with Mike, you should write on here more often! I, too, am thankful for your mom. She was also an amazing “adoptable” mom to many of us when we were in college. Thanks for sharing her!

  2. Good job, Leslie. I’ve been where you are and you’ll make it through this phase of life with flying colors! Pray for you and your family often. Sara Colaw

Leave a Reply

