The REAL reason we don’t share our faith.

witnessatthebar

Todd Wilson says it well in his book Real Christian, “Every time the Bible defines what it means to be an authentic Christian, it speaks in the language of the heart – about the heart, to the heart.”

Let me explain it this way…

Pretend I am sitting in a restaurant alone.  The waitress approaches and she is beautiful.

After some small talk her body language and strong eye contact make it clear she is flirting. She finally asks about my relationship situation. I have a few choices in my response.

If my highest priority in that moment is her being interested in me I could lie, take my ring off and say I have no one special in my life.

If I don’t want to technically lie but still really want her to be interested, I may tell the truth but do so in a way that minimizes it. I may say something like, “Yeah, I am with someone right now… but tell me more about yourself!” I am technically telling the truth, yet keeping the focus off of my marriage and almost implying that I am not all that satisfied.

If my number one priority and satisfaction is my wife’s affection my response will be really clear even if it makes the flirty waitress feel a bit awkward. I would clearly say “Yes!” I may even go right into how we met or that we have three amazing kids. If my marriage is radically more valuable to me than the attention the waitress is giving me, it will absolutely change how I present myself in words and actions.

Remember what Todd said? “Every time the Bible defines what it means to be an authentic Christian, it speaks in the language of the heart – about the heart, to the heart.”

John Piper takes it even further, “God is most glorified when we are most satisfied in him.”

Where are you trying to place your satisfaction? This will absolutely influence how you live out your faith.

Evangelism isn’t primarily a knowledge issue, though knowledge is very important.  It’s a heart issue.  Most Christians don’t share their faith because they are placing their satisfaction in money, power, influence, or even affection from a person or group of people rather than in Jesus.

 

Great evangelism is a natural by-product of great love.  It is not a natural result of vast knowledge of Greek and Hebrew.

Want more? Check this out.

*images were found using Google image search and were marked for reuse.

 

Leave a Reply

